Ralf Metzenmacher
The Artwork
Retro-Art
The subject matter
Painting technique
Collections
Latest News
Showrooms
Press
Shop
Contact us
Currently you are here >> The subject matter >> Lord of the Crown >> Reptile Benz
2. Reptile Benz

Picture information:
200cm x 75cm, oil on canvas
Lord of the Crown - Reptile Benz
The Story:
"Reptile Benz" portrays the self-chosen position of man as reptile or predator. The lord and hunter, ready to fight. As an indication of his readiness, he has elected to have a "Tribal" design (similar to a tattoo) embroidered on his car's excessively long hood. For many indigenous races and particularly for young people in the western world, this Tribal design is applicable as a symbol of freedom and independence. The message is clear: "Look, I do as I like!"

The jungle green section displays the Mercedes Benz logo at the frontal point of an aggressive-looking car. Our man today uses this instrument of power in the same way as the hunter in the jungle uses his spear point as a weapon. The picture is intended to secure an animalistic effect and the headlight is therefore more a target-seeking eye than any sort of technical visual assistance. This eye is attached to the hood using a series of screws.


This attachment and the visible seams between the metal sheets are a reference to the sort of mechanical nature that is often to be found in films like "Predator" (with Arnold Schwarzenegger). This picture's message reads: "I'm clearing the way ahead. Watch out!"

It is at the same time, both highly topical and fundamental. Those who have experienced for themselves the daily insanity on German motorways can comprehend how seriously the drivers of some vehicles take this unverbalized message. And it is not just the drivers: the subject matter is so topical that courts (testdrivers are guilty of manslaughter) are also legally pursuing this behaviour with sensational judgements. Legislators have reacted by considerably increasing the penalty fines.

...back
Ralf Metzenmacher | Am Leinritt 9a 96049 Bamberg | Tel: +49 (0) 951 95 70 174 | eMail: info@ralf-metzenmacher.com | Imprint

Ralf Metzenmacher
Die Kunst
Retro-Art
Die Themen
Maltechnik
Collections
Aktuelles
Showrooms
Presse
Shop
Kontakt
Sie befinden sich hier >> Die Themen >> Der Herr der Krone >> Reptile Benz
2. Reptile Benz

Bildinformationen:
200cm x 75cm, Öl auf Leinwand
 Der Herr der Krone - Reptile Benz
Die Geschichte:
,Reptile Benz' zeigt die selbstgewählte Positionierung des Mannes als Reptil oder Predator. Er, der Jäger und Herrscher, der zu kämpfen bereit ist. Als Zeichen seiner Bereitschaft hat er auf der überlangen Motorhaube ein gesticktes 'Tribal' (ähnlich einer Tätowierung) gewählt. Diese Tribals gelten in vielen Naturvölkern und besonders auch in jugendlichen Gesellschaften der westlichen Welt als Symbol für Freiheit und Unabhängigkeit. Ganz nach dem Motto: 'Seht her, ich tue, was ich will!'

Der in Dschungelgrün gehaltene Ausschnitt zeigt das Markenzeichen von Mercedes Benz im vorderen Teil einer aggressiv anmutenden Wagenspitze. So wie der Jäger des Dschungels seine Speerspitze als Waffe einsetzt, tut es unser Mann von heute mit seinem, ihm eigenen Machtinstrument. Das Bild soll einen animalischen Effekt erzielen, und deshalb ist der Scheinwerfer mehr zielsuchendes Auge denn technische Sehhilfe. Dieses Auge ist durch Schrauben mit dem Gesicht der Motorhaube verbunden.


Daraus und aus den Nähte zwischen den Autoblechen ergibt sich ein Bezug zu mechanischen Wesen, die etwa in Filmen wie 'Predator' (mit Arnold Schwarzenegger) vorkommen. Die Botschaft dieses Bildes lautet: 'Ich räume mir den Weg frei, sei vorsichtig!'

Sie ist hochaktuell und grundsätzlich zugleich. Wer den alltäglichen Wahnsinn auf deutschen Autobahnen selbst erlebt, kann nachvollziehen, wie ernst die Fahrer mancher Fahrzeuge diese nicht ausgesprochene Botschaft nehmen. Und nicht nur die: Das Thema ist so aktuell, dass auch Gerichte (Testfahrer wegen fahrlässiger Tötung anklagen!) mit Aufsehen erregenden Urteilen dieses Verhalten ahnden und der Gesetzgeber mit erheblichen Verschärfungen im Bußgeldkatalog reagiert hat.


...zurück
Ralf Metzenmacher | Am Leinritt 9a 96049 Bamberg | Tel: +49 (0) 951 95 70 174 | eMail: info@ralf-metzenmacher.com | Impressum